Corporate America Wants It’s Money!: Hulu To Start Charging For Content in 2010?


300px-Hulu_logo_svg

This is heartbreaking! News Corp, which owns Hulu, is reported as saying that they might have to start charging for it’s content in 2010.

Here’s the quote: “It’s time to start getting paid for broadcast content online. I think a free model is a very difficult way to capture the value of our content. I think what we need to do is deliver that content to consumers in a way where they will appreciate the value. Hulu concurs with that, it needs to evolve to have a meaningful subscription model as part of its business”

Not all content might cost you but most of the programs might.

I actually saw this happening but I’m disappointed that it’s happening so soon. I like Hulu the way it is and I don’t find anything wrong with it’s system with ads.

If News Corp starts charging for it’s content, I will stop going to the site and look elsewhere for a similar experience. For now, I will continue to enjoy the Hulu experience as long as it’s free.

Leave a Reply

