Dante’s Inferno Video Game Reviews: God of War? Yes. Do I Care? Hell No!


I’ve been following this game for while because I actually read the Divine Comedy. I was interested to see how the guys at EA would convert such a piece of literature into a video game. After reading about the circles of Hell, I’m not surprised that somebody wanted to make that into a video game.

Dante’s Inferno is loosely based on the poem. Dante is the poem is actually a weak person so it’s not surprising that EA wanted more a super human personality to take his place.

The release day is next week. Tuesday I think. EA has come up with a Superbowl ad to get everyone’s attention. Watch it now:

Some reviews have been pouring out and everybody is constantly saying the same thing: It plays like God Of War!

I think anybody who has seen gameplay footage of the game should already know that. The fact that everybody keeps saying it’s like God of War is starting to get annoying.

Honestly, the last time i checked, almost all games copy from each other in their genre. Devil May Cry = Bayonetta. Anybody catch that? Also to be clear, a couple of people who worked on God of War actually worked on the Dante’s Inferno project.

Does it play like God of War? You bet but that’s not what I’m focused on. I want to know what the story is about and in that instance, there is a vast difference. It’s a different story,a different main character as well as different levels and enemies.

Granted, some reviews did point out some of the repetitive combat as well as a laid back storyline. In defense, a hack and slash game is going to be repetitive and as far as story, I will have to judge that for myself

In a the end, saying that Dante’s Inferno is just a God of War clone and therefore there’s no point playing it is somewhat absurd to me. All games borrow different elements from others all the time.

I will be picking this game up when it comes out. If I had a PS3, I would be getting God of War 3 as well. I play games and if you are a true gamer, you would do the same too. Don’t hate, appreciate.

IGN Review of Dante’s Inferno:

One thought on “Dante’s Inferno Video Game Reviews: God of War? Yes. Do I Care? Hell No!

Leave a Reply

