Is There A Microsoft Double Standard In Media And Blogs?


If you haven’t heard by now, you’re were apparently supposed to be a “dumb” person if you used Internet Explorer. Well, guess what? The story was fake and no, you’re not dumb if you use Internet Explorer to browse the internet.

I’ve been wondering about whether this is a trend: Is there a double standard when it comes to writing and reporting about anything Microsoft related in media and blogs?

Maybe its me, but there are times I can’t help but notice that when there is a Microsoft related story, there seems to be a heavy amount of cynicism and skeptism. Is it because Microsoft doesn’t have a good track record when it comes to releasing certain products (eg. Kin)?

We all know that Google is king when it comes to search and Bing is in the far distance. I use both Google and Bing. I find Bing visually appealing and it does some certain searches better. Google though has overall a better search of the web and many habitually associate “search” with Google. But I sometimes can’t help but notice when some blogs and writers continously call Bing “bad”. I would like to know whats “bad” about it. We know Microsoft is pouring in a lot of resources and money into Bing and is slowly trying to catch Google in marketshare but I’m puzzled when I hear that Bing is a bad experience.

I may be a little biased here when it comes to Windows Phone because I own a Samsung Focus which has Windows Phone OS on it. But I think the same double standard principle can be applied to Microsoft’s phone OS. Granted, Microsoft was late in delivering an competitive touch OS for their mobile strategy and got smacked by Apple and Android. But you have to credit them for created a credible mobile OS. But for some reason, Microsoft gets branded with being “bad” or not “good enough” which once again confuses me. I think most of the bias however comes from online commentators most notably “fanboys”.

Which brings me to Internet Explorer. Like I said in the beginning of this post, this “new study” came out and most blog sites decided to run it as it was without checking whether it was credible or not. Basically I called BS as soon as I saw this report. Soon enough though, the report got debunked but not before everybody decided to take shots at Internet Explorer.
One could easily say that Microsoft was once again slow to make IE a competiting browser even though it had a large marketshare. Firefox came up and so did Chrome which in my honest opinion is one of the fastest and secure browsers I’ve used. IE9 is not a bad browser. It took me a little getting used too. Its far more faster and less frustrating than previous versions but unfortunately, its the still the butt of jokes on the internet.

These are just a few observations. Is is a double standard? Perhaps. But also, this could be Microsoft’s fault. They somewhat become stale with their products(Internet Explorer, Windows Mobile/Phone etc…) but they have somewhat stepped up their game and are actually putting out good products. I think Bing is a good search engine. Windows Phone is not as terrible people make it out to be.

Maybe Microsoft needs to go on a “We’re Not As We Used To Be” advertising campaign to change perception. But then again, the tech community needs to stop labeling and stereotyping certain companies. Apple is looked at as the Zeus of Tech Companies. Granted, they put out great products which are great quality but that doesn’t mean they don’t have their own bad products of their own. The same can be said about Google.

Anyway, thats just my opinion. If you feel differently, feel free to comment

Leave a Reply

