Adventures Of Electronic Shopping In Ghana


When I lived in the US, shopping for IT stuff was a breeze. All I had to do was go on Amazon, search whatever I was looking for, buy it and search it to my address.

Or I could go to the nearest Best Buy and buy it physically.

I’m picky when it comes to purchasing electronic stuff. I need to check reviews, read forums and watch video reviews so that the next smartphone I buy is top notch and not a crappy product.

In Ghana, I don’t really get that luxury. I can still check blog sites and see the reviews of the stuff I want to buy. Unfortunately, the stuff I want to buy in Ghana is kind of hard to find.

Many people would say that the best place to buy smartphones would be Telefonika. I have  bought phones from Telefonika. What I’ve noticed is that Telefonika tends to sell the more popular phones like Samsung and Apple. But a guy like me wants to get his hands on a OnePlus Two phone or a Nexus 6P. They’re proving very elusive.

logo_shop

Telefonika also does its best to sell other tech stuff. They have drones and hoverboards. If you ask me, Telefonika is the closest thing to Best Buy.

OR you could consider Compu-Ghana. CompuGhana could be the nearest competitor to Telefonika. They also sell a bunch of tech stuff like Beats Headphones, Smartphones and also very importantly, computers. Sometimes I think CompuGhana and Telefonika should just merge to create the ultimate tech store. But that’s just me.

5795

Since we don’t have Amazon in Ghana, the next best thing I try is either Tonaton or OLX. It’s basically the ebay version. Finding a OnePlus Two is proving difficult. I’m also very skeptical of buying gadget stuff from people online. (I’ve been burned before)

So we come to e-commerce especially with tech stuff. If you’ve lived in Ghana, then you know that we don’t really have a good address system. In the US, I could also post my address and ship an item. When I get back to my apartment, it’s either waiting for me at my door or my mailbox.

unnamedTonaton-logo.svg

Not the case in Ghana. Giving people directions is a pain. I’m hoping it gets better but for now, we have to live with trying to direct the delivery guy every five minutes because he’s not familiar with the area he’s riding in.

But it’s not just the delivery system with it comes to e-commerce, it’s also finding the stuff you want. I once looked for a HDMI to VGA cable for my laptop. Could not find one for the life of one. Now I’m trying to find a OnePlus Two or Nexus 6P smartphone. Nobody has that in stock. I’ve seen some on Tonaton and OLX but I don’t trust those sites because the pictures posted up are promo pics.

Call me picky but I know what I want. No, I’m interested in the “popular” brand. Maybe there’s some other store I haven’t found where I can get my tech needs. DeviceGH comes to mind.

10868244_882062511845526_1725974156084451897_n

I actually bought a Nike Fuelband from DeviceGh. Believe me, I couldn’t find that item in almost all the other stuff stores I looked.

But all in all, you know what I would love: A website where all tech devices could put in a database, where it lists which stores they’re in and the average price they’re being sold for.

I wonder how other people shop for tech stuff? I think I might be in the minority when trying to find specific tech stuff to purchase. I don’t think there’s anything wrong with wanting options. I don’t want to be in the crowd, holding the same Galaxy phone like everybody else. I want my Nexus 6P/ OnePlus Two.

So how do you guys shop for tech stuff? Are you OK with going to a store and just picking out something that looks good?

Or are you like me and are kind of frustrated when it comes to find the right gadget to buy?

 

 

2 thoughts on “Adventures Of Electronic Shopping In Ghana

  1. I usually order my tech stuff from Ali express. I hardly get them here. Since Ebay and Amazon don’t ship here, that’s my only option.

  2. As long as I saw the users’ behaviour in Ghana, they do not want to place their orders online, they either prefer to pick it from a physical shop or maybe they want to book it through a phone call. If the problem is with the poor address structure then it may be the reason behind not preferrign online shopping in Ghana.

Leave a Reply

