Transitions


When I restarted this blog and started writing again in 2016, I was frustrated by the lack of content revolving around technology in Ghana.

Tech stories were almost non existent or not in-depth enough. And so, I started writing again, trying to cover technology news in Ghana. The aim was to be a bit more in-depth and write from user perspective side about technology.

Fast forward to December 2016. I had covered and written a lot of stuff from tech events, written blog posts about 4G LTE, Uber in Accra, Taxify and a bunch of other stuff. Needless to say, it was all exhausting to be quite frank.

I run this blog by myself. I write all the stories, do all the editing, sometimes doing the research for certain posts and then try to get the posts up on time if it’s time sensitive. Even though it’s tiring and I don’t get paid for doing all of this, I still love doing it. I have a side job and I’m working on a Masters degree. But I’ve always loved writing and I’ve always loved technology. So this site lets me do the two things I love.

2016 wasn’t a bad year for the blog I restarted. I didn’t do phenomenal numbers the last I checked my dashboard analytics for this site. I averaged about 4000 views and got about 2400 visitors for the year 2016. That’s about 200 visitors a month. That’s not bad for a one man show. It’s not giant numbers but I think it’s decent considering the fact that I don’t really advertise this site as much.

But sometimes, I just don’t feel like it’s enough. Also, like I said before, it can be a bit exhausting.

We’re now in 2017 and I think it’s time for a “transition“.

So here’s the bad news: By the end of February/Mid-March, I will no longer be posting content on this blog.

Wait, slow down. That was the bad news.

Here’s the good news: Instead of posting content on this WordPress blog, I will instead be launching a new website and posting new content there.

I actually hinted about that when I wrote a post that I wanted to do something cool.

So that is what’s going to happen. When I make the transition, I will transferring all the tech content from here to the new site.

I already have a name for the site. Still trying to build a small team of writers and other guys but it looks like we’re on the right path.

I can’t give away too much now but I’m following up with another post on what to expect from the new site.

Until then, I’ll continue to write up regular posts and keep readers informed about tech in Ghana.

5 thoughts on “Transitions

  1. You love writing good content and I love reading the good stuff. Wish you good luck & get good readers for your blog. If you write a good technical information then people in Ghana can also take the benefits to upgrading themselves to be a better technical person or tech savvy.

Leave a Reply

